EDGE's New Music Friday: ABBA, Charli XCX, RuPaul, Diana Ross & More

by Jason St. Amand

National News Editor

Friday November 5, 2021

A moment in ABBA's music video for "I Still Have Faith in You."
A moment in ABBA's music video for "I Still Have Faith in You."  (Source:YouTube Still)

Welcome to EDGE's New Music Friday, our guide to the best singles and albums released every week! This week, ABBA returns with their brand new album — their first in over 40 years. On top of that, Diana Ross returns with her first new album since 1999, "Thank You." Summer Walker also releases her sophomore album and we get new singles from Charli XCX and RuPaul, as well as two new bonus songs from Lorde's album "Solar Power" and much more!

ABBA - "Voyage"

The Swedish architects of pop are back: ABBA released "Voyage" today, their first album in 40 years. It features the excellent previously released singles "Don't Shut Me Down" and "I Still Have Faith in You" as well as "Just a Notion" (a track that was cut from their 1979 album "Voulez-Vous"). The band picks up where they left off, wonderfully blending sounds of nostalgia with today's modern disco love.

Diana Ross - "Thank You"

Diana Ross returns with her first brand new album of original music since 1999, "Thank You," an album written during COVID lockdown last year. It's her 25th album to date and is produced by Jack Antonoff, the musician/producer behind songs for Taylor Swift, Lana Del Rey, Lorde, Carly Rae Jepsen, The Chicks, and more. "Thank You" also finds Ross working with an array of songwriters, including Tayla Parx, Jimmy Napes, and more. Read more about Ross's music with EDGE's latest feature on her best songs.

Summer Walker - "Still Over It"

Singer Summer Walker released her second album "Still Over It" today, previously sharing lead single "Ex for a Reason" last month. The sprawling 20-track LP features a number of features, including Cardi B, SZA, Pharrell Williams, and Ciara, amongst others. She also worked with a number of producers and writers for the project including R&B titan Sean Garrett (Usher's "Yeah!," Britney Spears' "Toy Soldier," Ciara's "Goodies," and more).

Charli XCX - "New Shapes" feat. Christine and the Queens, Caroline Polacheck

British pop star Charli XCX's new album announcement ("Crash" is out on March 18) came with a brand new single: "New Shapes" featuring out singer Christine and the Queens as well as Caroline Polacheck. The love song is an 80s throwback with killer drums and piercing synths. But it's Polacheck who steals the show here with her unique vocal breakdown.

RuPaul - "Just What They Want"

RuPaul is sharing another single off her upcoming album "Mamaru," out in January. Following the addictive and sassy "Blame it on the Edit," Mama Ru shares "Just What They Want," a club-ready — and runway-ready — bop that will undoubtedly be featured on an upcoming season of "Drag Race."

Tiësto, Ava Max - "The Motto"

Ava Max teams up with producer and DJ Tiësto for "The Motto," a sexy banger that feels like it was created in 2011, fitting perfectly in Max's discography. Max's deep voice glides over a thumping chorus, making the track one of the most addictive songs to come out this week.

Lorde - "Helen of Troy," "Hold No Grudge"

Lorde gave fans a treat this week with two bonus songs off her 2021 album "Solar Power." "Helen of Troy" and "Hold No Grudges" appear on the deluxe version of her LP and fit perfectly in the album's world of relaxed but weird jams.

Mr Twin Sister - "Beezle"

New York City based band Mr Twin Sister have offered another new song from their forthcoming LP "Al Mundo Azul." "Beezle" is a slick dance track full of wild synths that play with each other as lead singer Andrea Estella cooly chants: "My nature is untamed / I'm all I know I can't give you comfort I can only take / You'll run away and I'll mope while longing."